Cobra Kai Derby Coach

You can't bend the rules unless you know the rules.
fuckyeahrollerderbyzebra:

I’ve applied to five. Each one ended up feeling like I was asking the hot girls of the school to the dance with me.
But… I got accepted? To all of them? I… I honestly didn’t prepare for this eventuality. Hash tag, pooped my pants.

fuckyeahrollerderbyzebra:

I’ve applied to five. Each one ended up feeling like I was asking the hot girls of the school to the dance with me.

But… I got accepted? To all of them? I… I honestly didn’t prepare for this eventuality. Hash tag, pooped my pants.

Anonymous asked: I'm in a internal struggle right now. I'm engaged to become derby wives with a very close friend of mine. Originally I had planned on proposing to someone else, but then I was proposed to and I felt like I couldn't say no. I just found out the girl who I was originally going to propose to also wanted to propose to me. Would it be bad to break off my engagement and go for the teammate I feel like I have more "derby chemistry" with, or should I just stick with what has happened?

fuckyeahderbywives:

See if your current wife would be fine with a threesome? ;)
I was one of 3 wives originally. SISTER WIFE THAT SHIT! :)

I’ve had a long post about derby wives on the back burner for 6+ months that uses phrases like “mimicking heteronormative binary relationship structure”. FYDW just blew two pages of my BS out of the water by saying “sister wife that shit”.

rdjunkies:



missbuster:
She is very nearly not in the engagement zone when she puts on her star, so she may very well be invalidating the entire star pass. But it’s SO FRIGGIN CUTE.

Fun fact for those not well-versed in the 4/1 changes: Once you get the star, you’re the jammer, which means you don’t have to stay in the engagement zone anymore. Thus, you get to put on the star anywhere on the track!


Some of these comments are not only mean girl bullshit, they’re showing people’s ignorance of the rules. Not that we know for sure which ruleset this bout was being played under. From the lack of contact it could be juniors level 1 from last year. 

But, yes, as rdjunkies said, under 4/1/14 WFTDA rules the used-to-be-pivot is the inactive jammer as soon as she gets the cover in her hand legally. She can put it on after she leaves the engagement zone if she wants to but she can’t score until it’s on her head with the stars showing.

As for a strategic reason for passing the star like those juniors did, it’s impossible to tell without more context.

Was that her second lap or her 6th? Had she fallen down 4 times on that last lap? Is she too tired to continue? Did she just get the wind knocked out of her? Is she about to lose a wheel? You don’t know. There could be any number of valid reasons to do a star pass at that moment. 

I can’t believe how many people are presuming they know better than another skater after seeing a 5 second gif just because that skater is 7. Those kids did a move that is really easy to screw up and they did it right. 

rdjunkies:

missbuster:

She is very nearly not in the engagement zone when she puts on her star, so she may very well be invalidating the entire star pass. But it’s SO FRIGGIN CUTE.

Fun fact for those not well-versed in the 4/1 changes: Once you get the star, you’re the jammer, which means you don’t have to stay in the engagement zone anymore. Thus, you get to put on the star anywhere on the track!

Some of these comments are not only mean girl bullshit, they’re showing people’s ignorance of the rules. Not that we know for sure which ruleset this bout was being played under. From the lack of contact it could be juniors level 1 from last year. 

But, yes, as rdjunkies said, under 4/1/14 WFTDA rules the used-to-be-pivot is the inactive jammer as soon as she gets the cover in her hand legally. She can put it on after she leaves the engagement zone if she wants to but she can’t score until it’s on her head with the stars showing.

As for a strategic reason for passing the star like those juniors did, it’s impossible to tell without more context.

Was that her second lap or her 6th? Had she fallen down 4 times on that last lap? Is she too tired to continue? Did she just get the wind knocked out of her? Is she about to lose a wheel? You don’t know. There could be any number of valid reasons to do a star pass at that moment.

I can’t believe how many people are presuming they know better than another skater after seeing a 5 second gif just because that skater is 7. Those kids did a move that is really easy to screw up and they did it right. 

(Source: masochistic-eventuality)

tearobite:

cobrakaiderbycoach:

One of the many changes to the rules that takes something that was implicit before and makes it explicit. Yes, the last two CKDCs have been about hooking up. It’s spring. Don’t judge me.

If you ever did that to me….
And actually, this is a real change. Jammers in games I have skated have been boxed for *initiating* contact with a blocker while out of play.

Tear: That line will be how I out myself to you in person. Except for the eyebrow part. I don’t have those. Because I’m a snake. But about the rule change…other rules make it clear that jammers are not in play when they’re down or out of bounds. But 3.3.5 says they’re always in play. Yet again WFTDA doesn’t edit well enough for contradictions within its rules. By the letter of 3.3.5 jammers could block or be blocked while off the track or when they’re down. That would be a very bad thing. General consensus is that the intent of this rule was to make it clearer that jammer-on-jammer engagement is permitted everywhere on the track, as long as everyone is up and in bounds.

tearobite:

cobrakaiderbycoach:

One of the many changes to the rules that takes something that was implicit before and makes it explicit.

Yes, the last two CKDCs have been about hooking up. It’s spring. Don’t judge me.

If you ever did that to me….

And actually, this is a real change. Jammers in games I have skated have been boxed for *initiating* contact with a blocker while out of play.

Tear: That line will be how I out myself to you in person. Except for the eyebrow part. I don’t have those. Because I’m a snake.

But about the rule change…other rules make it clear that jammers are not in play when they’re down or out of bounds. But 3.3.5 says they’re always in play. Yet again WFTDA doesn’t edit well enough for contradictions within its rules.

By the letter of 3.3.5 jammers could block or be blocked while off the track or when they’re down. That would be a very bad thing.

General consensus is that the intent of this rule was to make it clearer that jammer-on-jammer engagement is permitted everywhere on the track, as long as everyone is up and in bounds.

rollerderbyurkel:

cobrakaiderbycoach:

masochistic-eventuality:

Rose City Rollers, Rose Petals Youth Program, 7-12yo, had their inaugural bout Sunday, April 12th, 2014, The Voodoo Dolls VS The Daughters Of Doom. 
A star pass between two 7yo’s. The future of Roller Derby is now. 

Baby skater star pass!

Girls, you got NO POINTS on that pass.  I am EXTREMELY disappointed in both of you.

I hope you’re not allowed to coach children.

rollerderbyurkel:

cobrakaiderbycoach:

masochistic-eventuality:

Rose City Rollers, Rose Petals Youth Program, 7-12yo, had their inaugural bout Sunday, April 12th, 2014, The Voodoo Dolls VS The Daughters Of Doom. 

A star pass between two 7yo’s. The future of Roller Derby is now. 

Baby skater star pass!

Girls, you got NO POINTS on that pass.  I am EXTREMELY disappointed in both of you.

I hope you’re not allowed to coach children.

masochistic-eventuality:

Rose City Rollers, Rose Petals Youth Program, 7-12yo, had their inaugural bout Sunday, April 12th, 2014, The Voodoo Dolls VS The Daughters Of Doom. 
A star pass between two 7yo’s. The future of Roller Derby is now. 

Baby skater star pass!

masochistic-eventuality:

Rose City Rollers, Rose Petals Youth Program, 7-12yo, had their inaugural bout Sunday, April 12th, 2014, The Voodoo Dolls VS The Daughters Of Doom. 

A star pass between two 7yo’s. The future of Roller Derby is now. 

Baby skater star pass!

(via fuckyeahderbybitches)

One of the many changes to the rules that takes something that was implicit before and makes it explicit. Yes, the last two CKDCs have been about hooking up. It’s spring. Don’t judge me.

One of the many changes to the rules that takes something that was implicit before and makes it explicit.

Yes, the last two CKDCs have been about hooking up. It’s spring. Don’t judge me.

trollerderby:

Cuando todas las bloqueadoras ayudan a la jammer.
When all the blockers help the jammer.

You mean it isn’t supposed to be 4 on 1 the whole time?

trollerderby:

Cuando todas las bloqueadoras ayudan a la jammer.

When all the blockers help the jammer.

You mean it isn’t supposed to be 4 on 1 the whole time?

When I call a false start on a blocker touching the jammer line and they start skating clockwise around the track

rollerderbyurkel:

cobrakaiderbycoach:

derbyref:

image

I wish people would learn the rules. It was a big deal when they came out a little while ago.

Here’s my question - is this now an out of play for failure to return or entering the pack from the front when you exited from the back?

I think not cause TECHNICALLY you are still in front of the pivot line, right?  But maybe it is….

I think you’d get an out of play before you got all the way around to the front of the pack. If the refs aren’t asleep.

Also if you (a blocker) have both feet over the jammer line at the whistle it’s not a false start anymore. It’s illegal positioning with no opportunity to yield (5.13.10). So you can’t really be ‘in front’ of the pivot line by starting behind the jam line anymore. To get the false start warning you have to have at least one wheel on or in front of the jam line at the whistle.